Yours for FREE

My top-notch book, "Your Right To Write"

  • FREE tips on writing, blogging, publishing and essay competitions
  • Exclusive offers and inspiration delivered directly to your inbox
Just enter your email now and I'll send the Book to you... for FREE.

The Nick Darke Writers’ Award 2016

The Nick Darke Writers’ Award 2016

The Nick Darke Writers’ Award was set up in 2006 to celebrate the best writing for stage, screen and radio. Following Nick Darke’s death the Nick Darke Award was conceived by his wife, the artist and film maker Jane Darke, with the support of his family. Nick Darke wrote in many forms but earned his living in the world of theatre, screen and radio. The Nick Darke Writers’ Award is solely funded by Falmouth University through the Academy of Music and Theatre Arts (AMATA) and the School of Writing & Journalism.

The relationship between Falmouth and the Award recognizes Nick Darke’s impact across the arts and endeavours to continue his legacy through the promotion of talent.


Any full script stage play


Falmouth University through the Academy of Music and Theatre Arts (AMATA) and the School of Writing & Journalism.


The winning entrant will receive £6,000 and receive mentoring from Carl Grose.


30 May, 2016 (17:00 GMT)


  • The application must be made in English.
  • The competition is open to all national and international writers aged 16 and over.
  • The writer must be the sole original author. The competition is not open to collaborations.
  • Please submit a full stage play script of approximately one hour in length.
  • Please also submit a one page synopsis about the play.
  • Email a short CV with your submission and include your contact details. If you fail to do so your application will not be considered.
  • Please email your submission in two PDF documents, one containing your CV and the other containing your synopsis and script to:
  • Confirmation of receipt of application will be sent by email.
  • Late or incomplete applications will not be considered.
  • Your work will be considered by a selection of readers who will compile a longlist for the Longlist Committee. The Longlist Committee will reduce the submissions to a final shortlist of eight for the judges.
  • Shortlisted applicants will be notified by Friday 26 August, 2016.
  • Unsuccessful applicants will not be notified, please assume your work has not been shortlisted if you haven’t heard from us by Friday 26 August, 2016.
  • The Nick Darke Writers’ Award cannot enter into any correspondence regarding a submission nor can it offer any editorial notes or guidance.
  • The shortlist and winner of the Award will be published on
  • The judges will select one winner from the eight shortlisted writers. The winner will be announced in autumn 2016 at an Award Ceremony
  • The copyright for the piece remains solely with the author. However the Nick Darke Writers’ Award must be credited on all subsequent publicity material.
  • The winning writer must make themselves and their winning piece available for all publicity purposes within reason. This may include a performance or reading of the work during the Award Ceremony.


For more information contact the organizers via or call +44 (0)1326 253751


This announcement is formatted using Naija Writers’ Coach Posting Format. If you republish this on your website, please provide a link to this setup banner

Get my awesome eBook and newsletter ... FREE

Your Right to WriteIf your dream is to be a writer and influence the world, the theoretical and practical insights the author provides have the power to convert your dream to reality.

-- Dr. Mahfouz A. Adedimeji | Fulbright scholar | Senior Lecturer, Unilorin | newspaper columnist

About Muhammed Abdullahi Tosin

Writer. Difference Maker. Entrepreneur. Author, Your Right To Write & Vertical Writing. Winner, 11 Writing Prizes.

Speak Your Mind