Yours for FREE

My top-notch book, "Your Right To Write"

  • FREE tips on writing, blogging, publishing and essay competitions
  • Exclusive offers and inspiration delivered directly to your inbox
Just enter your email now and I'll send the Book to you... for FREE.

World Trade Organization Essay Award for Young Economists 2015

World Trade Organization Essay Award for Young Economists 2015

The WTO launched on 4 February 2015 an invitation to young economists to submit papers for the 2015 WTO Essay Award for Young Economists. The Award aims to promote high-quality research on trade policy and international trade co-operation among young economists and to reinforce the relationship between the WTO and the academic community.


The paper must address issues related to trade policy and international trade co-operation.


World Trade Organization

World Trade Organization Essay Award for Young Economists 2015


The annual WTO Essay Award consists of a prize of CHF 5,000 to the author(s) of the winning essay. In the case of a co-authored paper, the prize will be equally divided among the authors.

The winning paper will be officially announced at the annual meeting of the European Trade Study Group (ETSG), which is the largest conference specializing in international trade. The award ceremony will take place in September 2015 in Paris.

The winning author(s) will receive funding to attend the meeting.


June 1 2015.


  • An Academic Selection Panel is responsible for the selection of the winning paper. The panel comprises: Professor Avinash Dixit(Princeton University), Professor Robert Steiger (Dartmouth College), Professor Alberto Trejos (INCAE Business School). Dr Robert Koopman (Director, Economic Research and Statistics Division, WTO Secretariat) is ex officio member of the panel. Dr Roberta Piermartini (Counsellor, Economic Research and Statistics Division, WTO) coordinates the work of the Selection Panel.
  • Eligibility: The author(s) of the paper must possess or be engaged in the completion of a PhD degree and, if over 30 years of age, be no more than two years past a PhD defence. In the case of co-authored papers, this requirement shall apply to all authors.
  • To be considered for the Award, essays cannot exceed 15,000 words.
  • All submissions should be sent to
  • Submissions should include as separate attachments in PDF format:
    • The essay
    • The CV of the author(s), specifying (i) current affiliation(s), (ii) the academic institution awarding the PhD, (iii) the year (or the expected year) of the PhD, (iv) the date of birth of the author(s).
  • The Economic Research and Statistics Division of the WTO Secretariat will shortlist eligible papers by 15 June 2015 and the Selection Panel will take a final decision by 15 July 2015. Only the author(s) of short-listed essays will be notified.


Send your questions to


This announcement is formatted using Naija Writers’ Coach Posting Format. If you republish this on your website, please provide a link to this post.

website setup banner

Get my awesome eBook and newsletter ... FREE

Your Right to WriteIf your dream is to be a writer and influence the world, the theoretical and practical insights the author provides have the power to convert your dream to reality.

-- Dr. Mahfouz A. Adedimeji | Fulbright scholar | Senior Lecturer, Unilorin | newspaper columnist

About Muhammed Abdullahi Tosin

Writer. Difference Maker. Entrepreneur. Author, Your Right To Write & Vertical Writing. Winner, 11 Writing Prizes.

Speak Your Mind